Rejection (?)

By Sarai Martinez 

This is for all seniors: Have you gotten rejected from any universities?

Well, shamefully, I have, but since the beginning I knew that California State University Long Beach was a difficult university to get into.

When I got the letter I was devastated to find out that I wasn’t good enough for a college. After I calmed down, I reread the rejection letter and found out that I didn’t get rejected because my grades were too low, but because CSULB receives over 83,000 undergraduate applications. I understood that there are people out there that tried harder than me, studied more rigorously, and did more extra curricular activities.

What the rejection letter showed me is that I need to step up my game. The rejection letter didn’t destroy me; it made me conscious of my weaknesses. And I reminded myself that I got two acceptance letters already, so one rejection isn’t really that bad.

CSULB also wasn’t my dream university. I’m still waiting to get a respond from UC Riverside. That’s the university my parents want me to go to, and I want to go there too. At first I wanted to go to Concordia University of Irvine, but then once I took the time to look more in depth at UC Riverside, I fell in love with. I know that’s the school for me. And if it’s meant to be, I will get an acceptance letter.

So, for the rest of you seniors that haven’t gotten accepted to any universities don’t feel bad. Maybe they are saving the best for last.

Featured image found here.

Leave a Reply

